Laurel Awards

Each year we celebrate the exceptional accomplishments of our outstanding staff members, student employees and the Division of Student Affairs at the annual Laurel Awards ceremony.  Individuals and departments who go above and beyond in their roles and transform lives at the University are recognized.

Nominees are recommended by their peers, supervisors, staff, and students for their outstanding work and dedication. The nomination process takes place during the spring semester and the important dates are provided below.

Award Descriptions Submit a Nomination

We look forward to recognizing the excellent work of the Division and all of our staff. If you have any questions please contact Mike Piacentino at

Important Dates

  • Submissions open: February 6, 2020
  • Submissions close: April 13, 2020 by 5 p.m.
  • Laurel Awards Ceremony: Fall 2020

Committee Members for 2019-2020

  • Mike Piacentino, Chair, Student Affairs Communications and Marketing
  • Lindsey Woods, Vice-Chair, Butler Center for Service & Leadership
  • Rachel Askowitz, Student Health Service
  • Alex Castaneda, Housing & Residential Life
  • Layla Claure, Undergraduate Student Representative, Student Center Complex
  • Marena Gavilan, Herbert Wellness Center
  • Ashley Morning, Orientation & Commuter Student Involvement
  • Tery Ortega, Dean of Students Office
  • Benjamin Stocking, Counseling Center